Why is my billing cost higher than expected after downgrading the membership?

When you downgrade your membership in the middle of your billing cycle, your next invoice will be prorated. This means that you will be paying the higher membership cost for the days during which you had upgraded membership. Therefore the cost of the invoice immediately after downgrading or upgrading is different than actual subscription charges. However, all your subsequent invoices will have the actual subscription cost for that particular plan.